It’s Not A Love Song It’s Sexual Assault Pt.2

In my previous post I wrote about how in certain cases there is a fine line between a love song and lyrics that are degrading, abusive, and show violence against women. These lyrics are not just limited to one genre either they can be rap, metal, dance, pop, you name it.  Here are some more examples of music that has violent undertones towards women.

 

Rap:

Eminem- Stan ft. Dido

‘Hey Slim, that’s my girlfriend screaming in the trunk/ but I didn’t slit her throat, I just tied her up, see I ain’t like you/ cause if she suffocates she’ll suffer more, and then she’ll die too’

Even though the song is about a mentally ill fan, the violent video clip, and the subject of domestic violence is just horrible. Women are seen in this song as weak, and inferior to their male partners. The video clip featuring Dido is equally disturbing and confronting as he treats his pregnant girlfriend incredibly violently. Violence against women, music audiences say no.

Metal:

Bullet For My Valentine- Hit the Floor

‘But you can’t see how weak you are ’cause I could end it tonight
It’s the feeling you get when you think that someone behind is watching you
Well I can tell you now, that someone is me and I’m about to make it right’

This is a song about obsession and power. These lyrics talk about a male overpowering a female, with strong sexual assault and stalker undertones. He watches the female from a distance and tries approaching her. His advances are unwanted but he still begs and in doing so frightens the female. I find the lyric ‘you can’t see how weak you are ’cause I could end it tonight’ the most disturbing as it has violent undertones. The woman is seen as a weak, easy target for the male to attack if he wanted to. Admittedly it seems like the intentions of the male in the lyrics is to apologise or right some wrong with the female, however the violent and stalkerish undertones are still disturbing.

What genre do you think is the worst offender?

Any more songs to add to the list?

 

Rocheen.

Leave a Reply

